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SECOND HAND PLAY AGAINST NOTRUMP CONTRACTS

Everything in this section assumes that false-carding is not involved. False-carding always takes preference
over any other play. When count must be given for a possible hold-up by partner, that also has priority.

-- When declarer leads from low cards in dummy toward his hand, second hand should play the top card of
a four-card or longer solid sequence. Splitting honors from a two-card sequence (e.g., J10x, QJx, KQx) is
often wrong, and splitting from a three-card sequence can be wrong also. Therefore playing the highest card
from a sequence implies  fourth-round control. If it is judged necessary to split a two-card or three-card
sequence, do not play the highest card.

                          532 (dummy)
 
                      K7            J1098
                           
                           AQ64

Declarer leads the 2 from dummy, East playing the jack and West winning the kings. West knows that he
can continue the suit, both as a safe exit and to set up tricks for his side. If East had played the jack from
J1094, returning the suit would only help declarer (who would have AQ86). With only three cards J109 East
should not play the jack, and with J10x he should not split at all.

Treat cards that are going to be swallowed as if they were in your hand. For instance, K1097 is equivalent
to K1098 if the 8 is doubleton in dummy. Similarly:

                            92 (dummy)

                     A73               QJ108
                       
                           K654

If declarer leads dummy's 2 toward the king, East should play the queen, not the 8.

-- The same rules apply when declarer leads toward one or more honors in dummy. Splitting with an
unnecessarily high card implies fourth-round control.
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